«Собака Баскервилей», отрывок из гл. XIV

Я говорил, что над Гримпенской трясиной навис густой белый туман. Он медленно плыл в нашу сторону и громоздился стеной — невысокой, но плотной и четко оформленной. В свете луны он казался огромным мерцающим ледником, над которым парили вершины далеких гранитных скал. Холмс обернулся в ту сторону и, увидев, как туман медленно приближается, нетерпеливо пробормотал:
— Идет к нам, Уотсон.
— Это имеет значение?
— Еще какое! Единственный фактор в мире, который может расстроить мой план! Хотя долго он там не пробудет… Уже десять часов. Наш успех — и вообще его жизнь! — теперь могут зависеть от того, выйдет ли он раньше, чем туман накроет тропу.

Ночное небо над нами было чистым и ясным. Звезды сияли ярко и холодно, а полумесяц луны заливал все вокруг мягким неверным светом. Перед нами покоилась темная масса дома; зубчатая крыша и торчащие трубы резко выделялись на фоне блестящего серебром неба. Широкие полосы золотого света падали из окон нижнего этажа через сад и терялись в болотах. Одна из них вдруг погасла — слуги покинули кухню. Теперь оставалась только лампа в гостиной, где двое — убийца-хозяин и ничего не подозревающий гость — все так же беседовали за своими сигарами.

С каждой минутой мутная белая пелена, покрывшая полболота, приближалась все ближе к дому. Первые тонкие пряди уже завивались по золотому квадрату освещенного окна. Дальнюю стену садика уже не было видно; деревья поднялись над белесыми клубами тумана. Прямо на наших глазах туман заполз с обеих сторон дома и собрался в один плотный вал; верхний этаж и крыша всплыли над ним как будто волшебный корабль над призрачным морем. Холмс в сердцах стукнул рукой по камню и от нетерпения топнул ногой.

— Если через пятнадцать минут он не выйдет, тропу затянет. Через полчаса мы не сможем увидеть своей руки.
— Давайте отойдем дальше, на подъем?
— Да — наверно, так будет лучше.

По мере того как туманный вал наплывал, мы отступали, пока не оказались в полумиле от дома, — и все равно это густое белое море, посеребренное сверху луной, медленно и неотвратимо распространялось вперед.
— Мы слишком далеко отходим, — сказал Холмс. — Нельзя рисковать его могут догнать прежде, чем он досюда дойдет… Надо оставаться здесь, и все тут!

Он упал на колени и приложил ухо к земле.
— Слава богу! Кажется, он идет!

Тишину болот нарушил звук быстрых шагов. Съежившись среди камней, мы напряженно вглядывались в посеребренную стену. Шаги становились громче, и из тумана, словно пройдя сквозь занавес, возник человек, которого мы ждали. Вынырнув в ясную, залитую звездным сиянием ночь, он с удивлением огляделся, затем быстро пошел по тропе, миновал нашу засаду и стал подниматься по долгому склону у нас за спиной. Он шагал и постоянно оглядывался по сторонам — как человек, которому не по себе.
— Тсс! — шепнул Холмс, и я услышал, как щелкнул взведенный курок. — Смотрите! Вот оно!

Где-то в самом сердце наползающего тумана возник нечастый отрывистый мерный дробот. От тумана нас отделяло ярдов пятьдесят, не больше — мы глазели, все трое, не зная, какой кошмар возникнет сейчас из его глубины. Я сидел рядом с Холмсом и на секунду перевел взгляд на его лицо — оно было бледное и торжествующее; в свете луны глаза ярко сияли. Но вдруг они расширились и застыли, остекленев, а рот Холмса приоткрылся от изумления. В ту же секунду Лестрейд вскрикнул от ужаса и упал на землю ничком. Я вскочил на ноги, вцепившись ослабевшей рукой в пистолет и парализованный жутким зрелищем, которое возникло из мглы. Да, это была собака, огромная, угольно-черная — только такой собаки глаза смертного еще не видели! Из раскрытой пасти вырывался огонь, глаза горели как угли, а морда, загривок и грудь были очерчены мерцающим пламенем. Ни один воспаленный мозг ни в каком ужасном бреду не мог породить ничего более дикого, более ужасающего, более дьявольского — чем этот призрачный образ и чудовищный лик, который предстал перед нами из гущи тумана!

Черная тварь большими прыжками неслась по траве, двигаясь по следу нашего друга. Увидев призрак, мы так омертвели, что очнулись только когда он пронесся мимо. Тогда мы с Холмсом одновременно спустили курки, и тварь издала отвратительный визг — по меньшей мере одна из пуль ударила в цель. Чудовище не остановилось и продолжило мчаться вперед. Вдалеке на тропе мы увидели, как сэр Генри обернулся — луна сияет, лицо белое как полотно, руки вскинуты в ужасе — и воззрился беспомощно на этот кошмар, который настигал его.

Но крик боли, который издала собака, развеял все наши страхи. Ей больно — значит, она из плоти и крови, и если мы смогли ее ранить — значит, сможем убить. Я не видел еще никогда, чтобы человек мог бегать так быстро, как бежал в эту ночь Холмс. Вообще у меня быстрые ноги, но он обогнал меня так же, как я обогнал Лестрейда. Мы неслись по тропе, слыша перед собой бесконечный крик баронета и тяжкий рев твари. Я успел заметить, как зверь налетел на жертву, повалил ее наземь и припал к горлу. В следующий миг Холмс разрядил твари в бок все пять камор. Раздался ужасный вой, страшно лязгнули зубы, собака перекатилась на спину, бешено заколотила лапами — и обмякла, замерев на боку. Я нагнулся, еле переводя дух, и прижал пистолет к страшной мерцающей голове — но курок можно было уже не спускать. Гигантская собака была мертва.

The Hound of the Baskervilles. Extract from Chapter XIV

I have said that over the great Grimpen Mire there hung a dense, white fog. It was drifting slowly in our direction and banked itself up like a wall on that side of us, low but thick and well defined. The moon shone on it, and it looked like a great shimmering ice-field, with the heads of the distant tors as rocks borne upon its surface. Holmes’s face was turned towards it, and he muttered impatiently as he watched its sluggish drift.
“It’s moving towards us, Watson.”
“Is that serious?”
“Very serious, indeed — the one thing upon earth which could have disarranged my plans. He can’t be very long, now. It is already ten o’clock. Our success and even his life may depend upon his coming out before the fog is over the path.”

The night was clear and fine above us. The stars shone cold and bright, while a half-moon bathed the whole scene in a soft, uncertain light. Before us lay the dark bulk of the house, its serrated roof and bristling chimneys hard outlined against the silver-spangled sky. Broad bars of golden light from the lower windows stretched across the orchard and the moor. One of them was suddenly shut off. The servants had left the kitchen. There only remained the lamp in the dining-room where the two men, the murderous host and the unconscious guest, still chatted over their cigars.

Every minute that white woolly plain which covered one-half of the moor was drifting closer and closer to the house. Already the first thin wisps of it were curling across the golden square of the lighted window. The farther wall of the orchard was already invisible, and the trees were standing out of a swirl of white vapour. As we watched it the fog-wreaths came crawling round both corners of the house and rolled slowly into one dense bank on which the upper floor and the roof floated like a strange ship upon a shadowy sea. Holmes struck his hand passionately upon the rock in front of us and stamped his feet in his impatience.

“If he isn’t out in a quarter of an hour the path will be covered. In half an hour we won’t be able to see our hands in front of us.”

“Shall we move farther back upon higher ground?”

“Yes, I think it would be as well.”

So as the fog-bank flowed onward we fell back before it until we were half a mile from the house, and still that dense white sea, with the moon silvering its upper edge, swept slowly and inexorably on.
“We are going too far,” said Holmes. “We dare not take the chance of his being overtaken before he can reach us. At all costs we must hold our ground where we are.” He dropped on his knees and clapped his ear to the ground. “Thank God, I think that I hear him coming.”

A sound of quick steps broke the silence of the moor. Crouching among the stones we stared intently at the silver-tipped bank in front of us. The steps grew louder, and through the fog, as through a curtain, there stepped the man whom we were awaiting. He looked round him in surprise as he emerged into the clear, starlit night. Then he came swiftly along the path, passed close to where we lay, and went on up the long slope behind us. As he walked he glanced continually over either shoulder, like a man who is ill at ease.

“Hist!” cried Holmes, and I heard the sharp click of a cocking pistol. “Look out! It’s coming!”

There was a thin, crisp, continuous patter from somewhere in the heart of that crawling bank. The cloud was within fifty yards of where we lay, and we glared at it, all three, uncertain what horror was about to break from the heart of it. I was at Holmes’s elbow, and I glanced for an instant at his face. It was pale and exultant, his eyes shining brightly in the moonlight. But suddenly they started forward in a rigid, fixed stare, and his lips parted in amazement. At the same instant Lestrade gave a yell of terror and threw himself face downward upon the ground. I sprang to my feet, my inert hand grasping my pistol, my mind paralysed by the dreadful shape which had sprung out upon us from the shadows of the fog. A hound it was, an enormous coal-black hound, but not such a hound as mortal eyes have ever seen. Fire burst from its open mouth, its eyes glowed with a smouldering glare, its muzzle and hackles and dewlap were outlined in flickering flame. Never in the delirious dream of a disordered brain could anything more savage, more appalling, more hellish be conceived than that dark form and savage face which broke upon us out of the wall of fog.

With long bounds the huge black creature was leaping down the track, following hard upon the footsteps of our friend. So paralysed were we by the apparition that we allowed him to pass before we had recovered our nerve. Then Holmes and I both fired together, and the creature gave a hideous howl, which showed that one at least had hit him. He did not pause, however, but bounded onward. Far away on the path we saw Sir Henry looking back, his face white in the moonlight, his hands raised in horror, glaring helplessly at the frightful thing which was hunting him down.

But that cry of pain from the hound had blown all our fears to the winds. If he was vulnerable he was mortal, and if we could wound him we could kill him. Never have I seen a man run as Holmes ran that night. I am reckoned fleet of foot, but he outpaced me as much as I outpaced the little professional. In front of us as we flew up the track we heard scream after scream from Sir Henry and the deep roar of the hound. I was in time to see the beast spring upon its victim, hurl him to the ground, and worry at his throat. But the next instant Holmes had emptied five barrels of his revolver into the creature’s flank. With a last howl of agony and a vicious snap in the air, it rolled upon its back, four feet pawing furiously, and then fell limp upon its side. I stooped, panting, and pressed my pistol to the dreadful, shimmering head, but it was useless to press the trigger. The giant hound was dead.